Cliff of Glory

By Tith Chandara

It was an icy morning when I climbed up a mountain, a 320 kilometers away from Phnom Penh. On a cliff, the cloud clogs my eyes not to see the cloistral of a temple clearly. I just had nothing to say, but slipped my mouth a word “It’s fantastic… so fantastic! It’s a paradise!” I felt like I was one in the 12th century. The ecstasy atmosphere around wraps a great celestial edified the Prah Vihear temple on 525-meter cliff of the Dong Rek Mountain.

Built in the 11th and the 12th century by the Suryavarman I and II, Prasat Preah Vihear was acknowledged in the UNESCO World Heritage Site listed in July, 7, 2008. It has been an argument between Cambodia and Thailand to own this temple. After the 1962 ICJ (International court of Justice) ruled this temple to belong to Cambodia.

Moving, smiling, running around and taking photo before the sun rises up. It was a bitchy blur of cloud. The temple serves as a stylish to a representation of the Mount Meru, the home of the gods. I could touch it; kick it as if I was one of the gods. The sculptures are dancing on the wall surrounded by flower flourishing as a fence fill more fascination charming me to take pictures more and more. Unbelievable, my camera’s memory was full; the battery was low. That trip drove me a dream to see a dramatic world of tremendous scenery. I will never forget it.

Leave a comment